Monkey Business at Uluwatu Temple

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Situated on a plateaued peninsula 250 feet above the sheer limestone cliffs that drop off into the perilous surf break, Uluatu Temple is one of the most picturesque temples in Bali. With a west-facing panoramic view, it brings flocks of tourists who make the drive up the windy roads to experience Uluwatu’s spectacular sunsets.  We found a cabbie who agreed to be our tour guide (for the bargain price of $10 for the day) and made the trek. The views were as promised, truly spectacular, like nothing I’d ever witnessed before, but what really stole my attention were the monkeys.
I had no idea how feisty these little guys could be and was somewhat surprised when we were told to take off all sunglasses, hats, necklaces etc…so the monkeys couldn’t steal them. After seeing a monkey take off with a 5 year old Asian boy’s croc (as in these hideous shoes) causing him to fall over and start crying, I should have learned to keep my distance but I just couldn’t.  I came across a monkey on a mo-ped and figured I’d offer him some water. He was not grateful.

Leave a Reply

